The Computer Problems thread!

Started by Nikki, July 22, 2006, 09:06:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nikki

Yeah..i think we should have a thread for this. even though i have NO knowledge about computers, i think this thread is where people can come and state their problems, and someone will come along and solve them.

My problem: Several of my music files have dissapeared. and not just random songs. BANDS! songs from certain bands have dissapeared. and some have been renamed and i KNOW i didn't do it. What could have cause this?

Much thanks to Keaton and Haz for my sig, and King Of Hearts for my avatar. ILU guys <3

GabrielsThoughts

Sounds like a system bug my sister's computer got last year, she went to BestBuy and her whole hardrive had to be wiped and the system reinstalled ...

you could read this http://www.ehow.com/how_11818_rid-computer-virus.html  Not a solutiuon.
   clickity click click click. Quote in personal text is from Walter Bishop of Fringe.

thegayhare

replay how about my problem

when ever I try to veiw the folder I keep my downloaded art in I get an error message and it closes the folder.  It was never a problem till recently.

I can still veiw  the images if I look at them threw my home publishing software but thts a pain

Rowne

TGH, that could likely be a malware created issue unless it's a filesystem problem.  There's only way to truly find out.

Start > Run > cmd (or command for older versions) if you're on a Windows machine and by using the word folder instead of directory, I gather that you are.

That'll open up a command shell.  What you need to do now is to navigate to the directory in question.  First make sure you're on the right drive.  If your art directory is on a different drive to the one shown, you'll have to change it.  If it's on, say, drive D, you'll have to type D: and press enter.

Then you'll need to change the directory.