Game modding

Started by thegayhare, December 12, 2007, 11:25:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thegayhare

hello all

A while back I had a game Idea I wanted to persue.
I was planning to use a 3d shooter and create a Mod for that system.  Would love to do it with Red Faction 1 or 2 (probably 2 ) because I love the Geomoding function. 

But the problem is well I can't seem to figure out how to  work the editing software. 

so here are my questions Is there a game out there with a really simple map editor, and scripting engine?

I'd also prefer something with vehicles. 

also if anyone knows any one who's good at creating character skins I'm no artist so I could use help with that too.

sorry to be a pest and thanks

Ryudo Lee

I remember using Worldcraft to make maps for Half-Life.  I can't imagine that modding HL2 couldn't be that much more difficult.  I suppose all you would really need to do is find some modding resources (FAQs, etc) and start reading.  The best way to figure out how all that stuff works is to make a map with almost everything in it.  Back in the day I used to make WADs for Doom and Duke3D, and every FAQ on their editors said that your first map should be little more than a testing piece and should never be published.

Thanks to Taski & Silverfoxr for the artwork!

Tapewolf

Quote from: Ryudo Lee on December 13, 2007, 09:12:04 AM
Back in the day I used to make WADs for Doom and Duke3D, and every FAQ on their editors said that your first map should be little more than a testing piece and should never be published.

Mine was awful.  Maybe I should  >:3

J.P. Morris, Chief Engineer DMFA Radio Project * IT-HE * D-T-E

thegayhare

Thanks I'll look into those editors and faq's I've just had such bad luck woking with them

I'm still working on the story line but I was wondering if I could get your opinion on it

now I'll admit this is political