How stupid are the B-O-B?

Started by Bruinthor, July 15, 2012, 10:38:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bruinthor

I am long time fan of Amber but a newbie here. My stunned amazement at the antics of the Blunt Object Brigade motivated my to sign up and comment.
Where to start:
Merlitz was a member in good standing until the rest booted him over the 'human sighting' thing (I know that was spurious). Do they think he had fallen and began working for yea dark forces of evil?

They have visited Lost Lake at least once as a group and  Genesis4 at least once more by herself. Nothing occurred that could be considered hostile (Able/Merlitz's suck punch was laughed off as a reasonable reaction to their betrayal). All other behavior was  friendly and what one would expect at an Inn.

They detect Dan/Alexsi's externally applied morphing but fail to to detect Able/Merlitz's internally applied morphing. Over estimating their own cleverness they jump to the conclusion that Alexsi is a cubi.

During Gen subsequent visit she fails to detect (again) that Able is cubi but also fails to detect that Alexsi a being now. This can not be attributed to Gen alone as the rest are following along despite her limitations.

For some reason they decide to take out the Lost Lake cubi. Do they gather any intel? No:
Even the most cursory effort would have alerted  them to the full time presence of Able, Dan and Pryoduck as well as the frequent presence of  any or all of Azlan, Jyrras, Lorenda, Mab, Pip and Wildy. Worst case scenario ten to four odds.

But the BOB are not concerned with number of enemies they potentially face let alone the combat potential of said enemies. So they forgo peaceful infiltration to scout the situation and blitz Alexsi when they find her seemly alone.

Maybe something like walk in and say:
  Oh, hello we were trying to get in touch with Merl. Have you heard from him? Could we talk with anyone who might have?