The Prophecy of Charles! D:

Started by Alondro, January 23, 2008, 12:57:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alondro

To make sure I am eventually known as the greatesr seer the world has ever known, I am now going to publicly announce what I've been forecasting amongst those I know well for 3 years.

The world economy will plummet into a full-fledged depression in June, 2009.  And we shall at last see once and for all why an economy based on global interdependence is a disaster-in-waiting.

There, I've issued the world a challenge to prove me wrong!  But, the indicators I see all point to the inevitable culmination of decades of poor economic planning and uncontrolled population growth.

Interestingly, it does seem to line up with some other prophecy... but as I know coincidence can play a factor and many patterns repeat themselves throughout history, I must wait for some other key indicators before I make the connections.

If an asteroid falls into the Western Pacific and wipes out a third of the population next year, for instance, that'll make it pretty definite.

Still, it is undeniable that a Depression-style economic collapse this time around will be exponentially more devastating than in the 1930's.  The world is far more crowded, people aren't capable of doing anything themselves in most developed nations (just look at how people responded after Katrina, versus the old San Francisco earthquake).  There's no where to go anymore, no way to turn to the land, and the government is in dire financial shape with no way to support more public programs (especially if all the stock-based fortunes of the rich suddenly vanish and there's no one left to tax... except the poor!)

Oh yes, humanity has set itself up for quite a crushing fall, and I'm almost certain by now that it's about to tip over.
Three's a crowd:  One lordly leonine of the Leyjon, one cruel and cunning cubi goddess, and one utterly doomed human stuck between them.