12/07/07 [DMFA #851] - Overcompensating? Maybe...But that's what Engineers do ;)

Started by techmaster-glitch, December 07, 2007, 12:01:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Naldru

Quote from: AnizInDisguise on December 07, 2007, 08:33:59 PM
Jy-jy just needs to make a giant cannon if you ask me.
Rockets are more efficient than cannons in the larger sizes due to some problems in scaling.  You can double the payload and double the range fairly easily with rockets.  With cannons, even small increases may require massive changes in the projectiles and cannon bore.

By the way, I am an engineer.
Learn to laugh at yourself, and you will never be without a source of amusement.

RJ

Zedd

Mostly with an short fuze...And long gruge...Its gonna take him awhiles

techmaster-glitch

I must say, I quite enjoy this comic. It is a very nice start to the promised return of the zany antics. Also, as an aspiring robotics engineer myself, I can relate to this very much. 'When in doubt, build it bigger!'

AnizInDisguise

Quote from: Naldru on December 07, 2007, 09:30:05 PM
Rockets are more efficient than cannons in the larger sizes due to some problems in scaling.  You can double the payload and double the range fairly easily with rockets.  With cannons, even small increases may require massive changes in the projectiles and cannon bore.

Fine then. Jy just needs to build a giant DEATH RAY.

Alondro

Quote from: AnizInDisguise on December 08, 2007, 06:26:25 PM

Well, Nikola Tesla did have that working prototype...

I would suspect a better and more powerful version is easily producible with today's technology, though its effective range is still likely limited.

The problem with all 'death rays' is that energy tends to diffuse over distance, therefore to make apowerful enough ray you have to consume a huge amount of energy for very little destructive result.