Killing off a character.

Started by King Of Hearts, May 08, 2007, 05:13:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

King Of Hearts

What are your thoughts on it? Be it villians, heroes, side chacters...

I have a LOT of trouble when killing off my characters. Even the ones whom I created for the sole purpose of killing them off. I start giving them depth, making them lovable... then the next thing I know they are already two story arcs overdue for a dirt nap.

Tapewolf

I'm pretty new to this kind of creative writing, but I must admit I do have problems with it as well.  In the Jakob Pettersohn series, Azrael was invented for the sole purpose of dying to unhinge Jakob.  After the 'trip to Earth' arc it was really hard to actually kill him.

I'll admit I don't like killing villains either.  From Jakob's point of view this is easy to understand because he was a villain himself and he doesn't like the idea that anyone is irredeemable because it implies that he might be as well.

J.P. Morris, Chief Engineer DMFA Radio Project * IT-HE * D-T-E

llearch n'n'daCorna

That's one of the things I like about your writing, Tapewolf.

It's like a serial. You know -everyone- always comes back. :-]

(admittedly, that isn't always a good thing...)
Thanks for all the images | Unofficial DMFA IRC server
"We found Scientology!" -- The Bad Idea Bears

Tapewolf

Quote from: llearch n'n'daCorna on May 08, 2007, 06:57:31 AM
That's one of the things I like about your writing, Tapewolf.

It's like a serial. You know -everyone- always comes back. :-]
(admittedly, that isn't always a good thing...)

Tell me about it.  I was going to leave Lucien dead but chickened out in a moment of weakness.  Though it must be said, it provided a great punchline.

However I can assure you that the mayor of Mundesberg will not be returning in 'Future History'.

J.P. Morris, Chief Engineer DMFA Radio Project * IT-HE * D-T-E

llearch n'n'daCorna

That's ok. There's always more cannon fodder...

Zina