Project

Started by BlueTiger, December 04, 2007, 08:12:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BlueTiger

Hi, I've been sporadically posting around here for the past couple of days or so, but I never really introduced myself. And seeing as what I'm about to suggest is pretty big, I figured I'd quickly say hello.

The name's AJ, I'm an 18 year old who will be going to a local college next fall. I'm a pretty classic nerd, what with my love of comics and video games and so on, with the one exception that I enjoy sports. More pertinent to the rest of this post, I program video games.

Don't get too excited now. Yes I proposing to start a DMFA video game project. Specifically a fighting game. However I'm not very experienced, and I work in a little used programing language called Blitz Basic (the descendant of the language BASIC, for anyone who knows about that stuff), so I can't guarantee how good it would be. Also (the reason I'm posting this), I'm going to have to rely on the help of other people who are willing to do work for free. Mostly artists.

I got the idea while surfing around the site and found the DMFA: Fighters (work in progress) thread. When I saw it I though "You know what? I bet I could actually do that." This was yesterday. In the past, oh 16-17 hours or so I've slept, ate, and programed. Using Naruto sprites I've had, I have charcters that can move and duck. I'm trying to getr jumping down before I move to attacking (Jumping is harder to program then you'd think). I also already have written down how I plan to have the fighting engine itself work.

The reason I'm posting this is because before I get too involved and excited over this, I need the following:

1) Amber's okay. Obviously this can't get anywhere without Amber's approval, but seeing as this isn't for profit, I figure she'll be okay with it. (PLEASE say yes Amber!)