What I would like to see in a MMO

Started by Axis, May 28, 2007, 02:50:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Axis

Kind of long

I'm not an expert on MMOs, I've only played World of Warcraft, but this is what I would like to see from playing it.

Different ways to level up.
It's hard to get in the mood of a benevolent holy priest or paladin that only fights to protect the innocent when I find that the only way to level up is to go out and slaughter thousands of random animals.  I would have several different trees to level up from.  Craft, battle, scout, healing, and maybe diplomacy. 

Most are self-explanatory, but scouting seems important to me from my many self-made adventures on my druid while exploring areas that are far too high a level for me.  So that's why I would add missions that involve exploring and spying and recon. 

Diplomacy would be an umbrella term for talking.  Learning new languages, haggling with merchants, and eventually negotiating treaties for your faction.

Shifting factions and class
Instead of alliance or horde, and set classes, everyone would begin as a peasant with several schools of choice to go in to.  Magic, melee, clergy, and hunting.  These would then split further and so on and so forth. 

For example
Melee->Shield or Sword
Magic->Damage or support
Clergy->Light or Darkness
Hunting->Bow or Tracking(Tracking including stealth-type abilties)

Eventually you would be able to cross over to other schools to further specialize.  However, the deeper you go into one school, the shallower you can go in another.  Certain schools would favor different ways of leveling.  Craft would be, however, a much more open path.