Neverwinter Nights.

Started by Rowne, August 31, 2006, 05:40:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rowne

This is a thread for Neverwinter Nights-related discussion.  I created it because an ongoing discussion in this thread had left the place feeling a bit hijacked and I didn't like that.

So if anyone has anything to say about Neverwinter Nights, either directly or in relation to, it can be said here or asked here, even ... since I'm a bit of a resident expert when it comes to that game.

Supercheese

What d'ya think of Neverwinter Nights 2? I watched the trailer, looked awesome, etc. Scheduled to come out in, like, 6 weeks or something.

Never played NWN 1...

Rowne

For parts of this review to make sense, I'd recommend tracking down a review of Neverwinter Nights (the first game) that explains the module system.  I can find one if you'd like.

----

I'm supremely excited, a lot of the stuff they've mentioned sounds very promising  and they have a number of exciting ideas.

One of my favourites is that they're setting up a central 'area' instead of just the chatroom in NWN1.  In this area people will be able to open shop, start Guilds and even obtain housing, as far as I've read at numerous sources.  In other words, it'll be a case of folks having the option to sit around and chat akin to an MMO if they want before setting out on their multiplayer (non-massively) adventures.

I can't help but think that with this hub system, they were perhaps a bit influenced by the success of Guild Wars.  Not that that's a bad thing, mind you.  It'd be interesting to wander over from one's Guild building to the local dispatch office to get 'ferried off' to the module of their choice.  I'm not sure how they'll pull it off but I'm very intrigued by the prospect and I want to see it in action.  Will this be one of those things that sounds good on paper but is bad in execution?  I don't know, it'll be an adventure finding out.